Learning Prayers in Latin

I am learning my prayers in Latin.  Few days ago, I learned Ave Maria.

Ave Maria, Gratia Plena Dominus Tecum Benedicta tu in muliéribus et bendictus fructus ventris tui, Iesus Santa Maria, Mater Dei, Ora pro nobs peccatoribus, nunc et in hora mortis nostrae Amen

Note that in this prayer, the name of Jesus in Latin is IESUS.  A “I” instead of “J”.  Latin is a transliteration from Greek where it was written as IESOUS.   However, Jesus’ hebrew name was Joshua, pronounced as Yahushua.  

Today, I will learn a new prayer in Latin:  Pater Noster.

2 comments on “Learning Prayers in Latin

  1. vdorta says:

    Hi, I loved your comments at The Conservative Treehouse. I just convinced my family to attend Latin mass which next weekend will be given in our community for the first time!

    If you have time, please visit my blog, where I have posted some articles I write for a small group of friends.

    Thanks,

    Vladimir

    • Shevtsova251 says:

      I’m very happy of this great news. Changing from neo-catholics to traditional catholicism is like changing from Hillary to Trump. Same thing but on the spiritual side.
      You’re priviledged to have access to traditional mass not too far from your home. Priests pray the mass ad orientem (toward the East) during Traditional tridentine latin mass, praying rubrics in latin in low voice. People do not participate much, except by praying silently with priest. It’s very solemn. Maybe some members of your family will not like it, and do not reproach them. You could explain to them that by trying to pray on their own, they could have a more intense and not boring experience (that’s for sure) of what is the mass. There’s only two reading, an epistle and the sermon followed by an homily all in English (not in latin).
      Here’s a video of the Sacred Tridentine Latin Mass – take out the (dot) after GU https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pvY_GG8P9GU (dot)
      Here’s a video of comparison of Holy Catholic Mass vs the Novus Ordo Mass – take out the (dot) after fa https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6fc7_OhT3fA (dot)
      I cherish your website and will read your articles. On first viewing, I saw a very elegant blog with a gracious writing, which is very inviting. Thank you for your trust.

Leave a Reply

